Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lilmary Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Jan 24, 2006, 03:06 PM
    Help
    I have a question. Im 22 female. Not really sexual active yet. And I have noticed the odor with some discharge. And I don't know what to do. I dontr want to go the dr. because I'm not sexual actice. So what are something's that I could do to get rid of this odor:confused:
    kp42484 Posts: 39, Reputation: 16

Jan 24, 2006, 03:56 PM
    Hi,

I'm not an expert, but I have had the same problem on several occasions. It sounds like a yeast infection, especially if you have had some itching or burning as well as the odor. You may try an over-the-counter suppository like "monistat" for the treatment of yeast infections. It's usually in the women's section where the tampons and douches and the like are located (but don't buy a douche--it's not good for you). Both I and other young women I know have had success with Monistat suppositories.

Also what would help would be to not wear tight pants or underpants that are tight around that "area". This causes some bacterial infections and discomfort. Also make sure to wash well "there" and wipe from front to back when relieving oneself.

Lastly, there are "personal cleansing" cloths that one may use but I haven't really had much success with those (but it wouldn't hurt to try).

Hope this helps!

Karen
    lilfyre Posts: 508, Reputation: 98

Jan 24, 2006, 05:32 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by kp42484
    Hi,

I'm not an expert, but I have had the same problem on several occasions. It sounds like a yeast infection, especially if you have had some itching or burning as well as the odor. You may try an over-the-counter suppository like "monistat" for the treatment of yeast infections. It's usually in the women's section where the tampons and douches and the like are located (but don't buy a douche--it's not good for you). Both I and other young women I know have had success with Monistat suppositories.