Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lcoleman Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Apr 24, 2008, 02:12 PM
    Art funds!
    I am a visual artist that is trying to figure out what is the best way to get funding for art projects. I do art workshops with youth ages 4-17, and I don't charge the kids because a lot of them come from low income homes. I work for the City I live in, in the Parks & Recreation Dept. with kids. By being a city employee, even only being part-time disqualifies me from going after city funding. My second job I am a Mentor/Youth Advocate, I work with youth that are on probation in the juvenile system. With the sell of my art work and these two part-time jobs, that's how most of needs get taking care of.(art supplies, snacks, frames!) I have a d.b.a.(doing business as), I have been told to go after government funding by becoming a 5013c nonprofit organization. Others have said, continue to use d.b.a. and just seek out sponsors. Any suggestions? trying to get rid of the starving artist stigma while helping at risk youth.
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Apr 25, 2008, 02:36 AM
    I have to commend you for the work that you are doing! I have built over 1,000 thumb pianos with kids in the vicinity where I live and no kid has ever had to pay a cent for one. I have made all of the parts for the kids to put together. If you were to buy the ones like the ones for which I have made the parts and subsequently, the kids have put together, one of them would be worth around $60.00 to $80.00.

What is the size of the city in which you live and work? I find it hard to understand why you can't have any funding from the city for something that is beneficial to youth, even if you are only a part-time employee. Would it be possible for you to attend a city council meeting in order to address some of the needs that you have? I would think that seeking out sponsors would be the easiest route to approach for immediate funding.