Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sschoonbeck Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 16, 2006, 04:59 AM
    Restraining Order - Repeat Violence
    I have a friend who has a restraining order against him and he has asked me
    To go speak to the person who ordered the restraining order and ask that
    Person to drop the order because he says it is my fault that it was placed on
    Him. I am afraid if I do that according to Florida law this would be a violation
    Of the restraing order and my friend could be arrested. Please help me.
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Jan 16, 2006, 05:25 AM
    Order
    Hi,
    I am not a lawyer, nor familiar with FL law.
    In most states, the person having the Restraining Order taken out is the only person who can have it withdrawn.
    As long as the person who the restraining order is against does not come in contact with the person who took it out, there should be no problem.
    If you are not involved with the order, (You didn't issue it, and are not named in it) , you can't get into trouble by talking with any of the parties who are involved.
    If this was the case, then no one could talk with either of the two parties involved, anytime!
    But, if you were really the reason the restraining order was taken out in the first place, and you talk with the person who took it out, he/she might then turn right around and place a restraining order against you!
    It might be better if you just stayed out of it. It's your decision.
    I do wish you good luck.
    sammyandcoach Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Feb 21, 2011, 10:59 AM
    Don't do it. For sure your friend will go to jail...
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member

Feb 21, 2011, 02:27 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by sammyandcoach View Post
    Don't do it. For sure your friend will go to jail....
    This thread is five years old. Please pay more attention to dates when posting.