Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pware724 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Jun 19, 2012, 08:33 AM
    Installing a ceiling fan with light and remote on 3 wall switches
    Hi,
    My name is Pamela and I'm new to this site. I've been putting up ceiling fan for myself for about 4 years and I'm stumble on this particular project. Was hoping for some guidance to eliminate my frustration. Thanks in advance.

Wiring a ceiling fan with remote, light and 3 wall switches. I've installed the ceiling fan and it doesn't work at all, not even the light fixture. I've checked to see if there any juice and there is. My ceiling box has 3 wires copper(ground) white and black. I followed the instructions on the manual using the receiver black and white wires with the black and white from the ceiling box and also using the white, black and blue from the other side of the receiver with the fan. I have connected all the green/copper wires together, yet I cannot get it to work. I have checked my wall switches thinking the main one (the controller) was off. Please help me I'm at a lost.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Jun 19, 2012, 09:13 AM
    Something is out of whack if you have only a black/white/copper and 3 switches. 3 ways need a travelker wire, usually a red wire. Have you tested across the black and white for 120?
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899
    Home Improvement & Construction Expert

Jun 19, 2012, 11:12 AM
    By 3 switches do you mean three switches side by side or do you mean three switches at different location around the room?

I've checked to see if there any juice and there is
    Tell us how you did that. Did you change any switch settings after you did that check?
    jerro Posts: 172, Reputation: 5

Jun 19, 2012, 02:28 PM