Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    EagleJ Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Apr 22, 2012, 06:21 AM
    Wiring a ceiling fan to a single switch that operates a hot outlet
    I am attempting to install some ceiling fans and have run into a wall with the wiring. I am not an electrician, obviously, but am a builder and very handy and have wired for renovations before - but this one has me stumped.
    I have a single switch that operates a hot outlet in the wall, currently running a lamp. The switch only has a single black and a single white wire connecting to the switch terminals, and a ground. That's it.
    I was trying to connect the fan and light and have the fan hot all the time but the light operated by the switch, and purchased/installed 14/3 cable to do so.
    I connected the fan black/black, red/blue, white/white, ground/ground. When this wasn't working, I skipped the red in the cable and just went black/black/blue, white/white, and grounds. I'm not even worrying about the fan light at this point.

I have tried every conceivable configuration for wiring the switch to the cable connecting to the fan and can get power to the fan but here's the problems:
    -When I turn on the switch, the lamp at the outlet and the fan turn on.
    -If I turn off the switch, both turn off.
    -If I turn on the switch, but unplug the lamp from the wall, the fan turns off. This happens if I put anything in the wall outlet without an on/off switch (actually I haven't found anything other than a lamp that will let the fan run).
    -If I have the lamp and the fan on, and then pull the chain for the fan speed, the lamp dims or turns off.
    -If I turn the lamp off, the fan turns off.
    -If I unscrew the bulbs to have the lamp on but not emitting light at night, the fan turns off.
    Also, the fan is only operating at low speed.