Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    martyrmg Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 5, 2012, 11:27 PM
    What type aluminum wire should I use to run 150 feet direct bruial for 100 amp sub pa
    What type aluminum wire should I use to run 150 feet direct bruial for a 100 sub panel.. Thnaks
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

Jan 6, 2012, 03:29 PM
    Assuming 40 amps of 120 volt load, #2 Al with USE insulation would result in 2.94% voltage drop.

Should be sufficient as long as there are not any large 120 V motors >3HP.

A popular 4 wire cable direct burial cable is #2-4 AL URD.

Are you aware of the codes for installing DB cable?
    martyrmg Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 6, 2012, 09:12 PM
    Sub panel will mainly feed a 60 amp hot tub... just want to have extra circuits available down the road... (URD)underground rsidential distribution wire I have never used before... is urd the type?. or there other types that have proven good to use? always used copper-- xlpe wire... wanted to know what is the better type aluminum direct burial wire to use... heard about aluminum breaking down sometimes when direct buried.. (Newer wire should bebetter now).. code for direct bruial wire... as far as I know... have to be two feet under ground... I always put a caution ribbon a foot or so above the wire when backfilling... I understand the rest... float the neutral... add grounding rod at new sub panel... oxide inheibitor on connections... mainly wanted to know best type of aluminum wire to use... and size to use... was going to use #2 copper ( 3--#2 xlpes and 1--# 6 grounding wire).. but the price is to high...
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

Jan 7, 2012, 05:09 AM
    Underground Residential Distribution cable is widely used by utilities and electricians to feed underground service entrances.

URD cable can be USE, RHH, RHW, or XLPE insulation.