Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Stephy213 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 4, 2008, 06:25 AM
    Teaching in the USA
    Hey guys, don't know if you can help me on this, but I'll give it a shot.
    Im an American citizen living in Australia (11 years in September).
    Im currently in my 2nd year of my Bachelor of Education/Bachelor of English double degree:when Im done, Im a qualified teacher!
    Question: Do you think I'll have trouble getting a job in the USA if I ever move back because I did my whole degree overseas?
    Are there any special requirements prospective teachers have to fulfill before being able to teach that I may not have done?Does it vary state to state?

Thanks for your help
    Steph
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Mar 4, 2008, 06:53 AM
    You will have to review this state by state, all require a teachers certificate for public schools, so it is possible you may have to do some additional requirements to get this, I am not sure if they will reconise a similar certificate from Autrialia.
    3rdgradeteacher Posts: 18, Reputation: 4

Mar 23, 2008, 04:37 PM
    There used to be reciprocity between states in the US. Once a teacher...
    But not anymore. Every state that I have checked into (not all 50 :) has their own
    State Board of Education that will issue a certificate at a cost to you. Each of the states I know of requires that you graduated from a university/college that they recognize. Then they require additional testing, in some states its called Praxis, to be validated in different subject areas, ie: art, elementary education, high school biology, etc, also at a cost to you.
    Then there are background checks and criminal checks. Some states refuse to offer teaching certificates to holders of specific offences. Contact for example: Pennsylvania State Board of Education.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question: