Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kimleon Posts: 1, Reputation: 2

Jun 14, 2007, 02:30 PM
    Blood in poop sometimes
    Hey, I just got a silky, right now he's 10 weeks

When we 1st got him, we've didn't have problems with him eattin or pooping

I went to the pet store to get food, they said that I can know give him hard food.. so I did
    Then like 4 days lata he started to have some blood in his poop. So we gave him wet food again.. its like ever other poop he does he bleeds not a lot its not mixed in the blood its like he bleeds then poops, or poops then bleed, and its always a little, is it just something not doing thur rt? Or should I be worried?
    zypexblade Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jun 14, 2007, 04:09 PM
    Hey I'm a vet in training is a silky a dog? I think it is as there is a breed of og called that I think it could have an intestinl ulser that is bleeding please take whatever it is to your vet right away thanks

Joe
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Jun 14, 2007, 05:44 PM
    Blood in the stool can have many causes, but hard, dry? food isn't one. Since some of the causes can be serious, yes see the vet, a good idea with any new puppy. Take the medical records you should have gotten with you and let your vet set up a schedule of immunizations. Also discuss flea and heartworm remedies. Plan to stick to a dry chow. They are better for a dogs teeth and jaws. I also find them easier to control portions to maintain proper weight.

A vet is on my list of essentials for a puppy starting at https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/dogs/i...tml#post251802
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Jun 14, 2007, 06:32 PM