Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    redneckchick Posts: 23, Reputation: 5

Feb 9, 2007, 11:19 AM
    Underage drinking
    Well my boyfriend and I were talking last night and we got into a fight about underage drinking. I just want to know can't you get arrested underage drinking? I told him that you can get arrested for underage drinking but he didn't believe me...
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Feb 9, 2007, 11:21 AM
    You get arrested for underage possession, if you are drinking you are in possession because it is in your system.

But normally it is not the actual drinking that you are arrested for but the possession.

Now this is the state I was a police officer in, other states can have their own state laws
    robynhgl Posts: 112, Reputation: 25

Feb 9, 2007, 11:32 AM
    If you're caught driving under the influence it makes no difference if your underage or not. You will also be charged with 'minor in possession'. This includes heavy fines, having to take classes related to drinking, driving, etc... and the possibility that you will lose your license for an extended period.

That's the good news. The bad news is that you could get killed or kill someone else. In that case--if you're dead, it won't matter to you, but your family and friends will suffer your loss for the rest of their lives. If you live and possibly kill someone else--you live with the knowledge that your selfish immature stupidity has taken someone else' life and that their family and friends suffer that knowledge for the rest of their lives.

So you can keep arguing about it--just don't do it!
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Feb 9, 2007, 11:40 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by redneckchick