Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    izzyxilo Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 21, 2006, 02:14 PM
    Enforcing garnishments?
    Hello-

I am new to a law office. We recently won judgment for garnishment in a rent & possession in the St. Louis, MO area. However, the Defendant is part owner of his business, and not only is he intercepting our attempts via mail, he also answers the phone refuses to deal with our office. I'm not sure what to do... any suggestions?
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Dec 21, 2006, 02:53 PM
    Hello izzy:

You're a lawyer? You're being paid for this service, yet you ask here? What is a "rent and possession"?

excon
    izzyxilo Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 21, 2006, 02:57 PM
    No, I am not a lawyer, but a secretary doing paralegal work.

This is a serious question, as our office only does some tenant law. Can someone else assist me? Preferably someone who knows what "rent & possession" is?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 21, 2006, 03:37 PM
    The business would be given "legal service" normally, and if he signs, the business is still notified.

But this is a question for your bosses who would and should know what to do about it.

After that, they can go to court and find the business in contempt of the court order and order its owners to obey the order or face even possible jail time till they obey.

Also if he is part owner of the business, and it is owned not under a LLC or coporation, they should be able to attach business bank accounts for the money owed also.

But once notified, if they don't comply the entire business can be held in contempt.

But your bosses would and should know all of that, for specific in your state law

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Checking Account Garnishments [ 4 Answers ]