Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    reesecup Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jun 3, 2007, 03:25 PM
    Underweight Cat, Loose Skin, No Hair
    :confused: I have had my cat for about 4yrs now. He was an adult when I adopted him and has always been skinny. He was put on Valium, because he obsessively cleaned himself until he was bald. He was taken off the medication and has been great ever since. However, he is still EXTREMELY underweight and has loose skin hanging off his stomach. My vet has checked every possibility. He eats great, but I know guests to my house must think I don't feed this cat. What could cause such loose skin, hanging the entire length of his underside and low weight??
    NowWhat Posts: 1,634, Reputation: 264
    Ultra Member

Jun 3, 2007, 03:30 PM
    I am not a cat expert - but it could be that he is "middle aged" . A lot of cats will get the low lying belly as they get older. Is he really active or pretty lazy?

Jun 3, 2007, 03:33 PM
    He is very active and loves to play. The skin is sooo loose, it can actually swing from side to side. His bones stick out so bad, I have a hard time brushing him.
    Ultra Member

Jun 3, 2007, 03:35 PM
    Has your vet put him on any special food to try and get the weight on?
    It may just be the way he's made. I know there are some cats that just always look like they haven't had a meal in a long time, when in reality they are very well fed.

Jun 3, 2007, 03:39 PM
    Yes, he gets special wet food and also dry food. I guess if he's comfortable with his looks, then I have to be also. Maybe he'll opt for a tummy tuck later on!! :D
    Ultra Member

Jun 3, 2007, 03:46 PM
    As long as he's not sick and your vet isn't worried - I think you are doing the best you can. And I bet, tummy tucks for cats is just around the corner! :)
    grammadidi Posts: 1,182, Reputation: 468
    Ultra Member

Jun 3, 2007, 04:08 PM