Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    illinois1 Posts: 92, Reputation: 2

Nov 7, 2011, 02:53 PM
    1997 Plymouth Grand Voyager SE 3.3 is leaking anti-freeze by timing chain cover
    I have a small leak and the repair is 700.00 car has 174,000 miles. If I do not get a new gasket can I continue to add anti-freeze as needed. The car is no way worth a 700.00 investment. I have done some stuff a door, struts, headlights, spindle, shocks, alternator. Nothing as big as this,I'm a novice mechanic would this be a good time to shop for another car instead of challenge my mechanical ability.

Got the print out for procedure and it does seem like a challenge of proportion.

Disconnect the negative battery cable.
    Drain the cooling system.
    Raise and safely support vehicle.
    Drain engine oil.
    Remove right front wheel and engine splash shield.
    Remove the oil pan and oil pick-up tube.
    Remove accessory drive belt.
    Remove the A/C compressor and position it out of the way.
    Remove crankshaft vibration damper.
    Remove the lower radiator hose.
    Remove the heater hose from the timing chain cover chousing, or water pump inlet tube(if equipped with oil cooler.
    Remove right engine mount.
    Remove idler pulley from the bracket..
    Remove engine mount bracket.
    Remove the camshaft position sensor.
    Remove the water pump for clearance.
    Remove the bolt attaching the power steering pump support strut to the fron cover..
    Remove the timing chain cover fasteners.
    Remove the timing chain cover.
    Remove the crankshaft oil seal from the cover.

This gets you to it and then you have to do it the other way correctly so you can drive it again.

Any info about choices or best choice, thanks in advance.
    odinn7 Posts: 7,691, Reputation: 1547
    Entomology Expert

Nov 7, 2011, 03:13 PM