Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    CivicNoob Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 21, 2007, 01:53 PM
    1990 honda civic dx hxbk w/91 CRX Si eng. Swap won't start
    A few days ago my car started acting funny when I tried to start it. It was acting as if the battery didn't have enough juice to crank the motor. I let it sit for 15 seconds, tried again, and was on my way. It did the same thing a few more times and finally on Tuesday wouldn't start at all.

I'm new to honda's but I've owned American Muscle before so I know a bit about cars. This problem led me to one of three things: dead battery due to alternator, dead starter or starter solenoid. I tried jumping the battery with my friends car, no dice, it didn't work. This led me to believe my battery wasn't the issue. ( I can power on everything in my car, radio, lights, fan, the starter just won't engage). So, I figured I'd give one more shot at the battery, I bought a new one, put it in, same thing, starter won't turn over.

There's a fuse labeled starter/alternator, not blown. So, knowing that my battery isn't the issue it leads me to believe something is awry with my starter. I have a friend who told me there is a starter relay switch that could be blown? However, as I said, I know nothing of Honda's so I don't have a clue where to begin looking! I looked at the starter and there's the positive lead from the battery, another cable that is routed somewhere I can't see( I'm assuming to a negative ground somewhere) and then one more cable coming off what I assume to be the solenoid. Also, when I try starting the car, there is no clicking from the solenoid as described in this:

https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/cars-t...tml#post235560

I've done a bit of research but can't find any definitive answers! Suggestions anyone?

Thanks for your help!
    CivicNoob Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 21, 2007, 06:01 PM
    Yup, new starter fixed it!

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions