Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tigerlilly3021 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 13, 2006, 12:04 PM
    Long haired, matted cat
    Hello,

I have a long haired cat. I have had her for 3 years and never experienced this problem. She has a clump of feces matted into the hair on her behind. It is a pretty big clump.I have tried to get it off but she will not allow it. Now she is starting to stink and it is stuck in her fur really well. I don't know what to do. I was going to take her to get groomed but they want her current shot record. I just moved and don't have it.Please help.
    orange Posts: 1,364, Reputation: 197
    Ultra Member

Apr 13, 2006, 01:15 PM
    Ideally of course, it would be good to get her professionally groomed right now. But since you can't do that, do you have someone who could help you by holding her while you carefully cut out the clump? I've done this before with long-haired cats... I would suggest you get a "partner" who can hold the cat still on a table, or vice versa, you hold the cat, and your partner cuts out the clump. After you've gotten out as much of the clump as you can, give the cat a bath and get rid of the rest by gently washing the area. Again, a partner would be helpful for this. If you've never bathed your cat before, here are some tips: