Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Goodguy908 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 23, 2009, 05:08 PM
    Levied Bank Account in NJ
    Hi there,

I have recently had a levy put on my bank account because of an 8 yr old cc debt. The court awarded Pressler and Pressler (NJ) a default judgement because I did not show to court. The thing is I have been lving abroad for the past 2 years and was not aware of the court date. I only found about it after checking my online banking acct which was now in negative balance after the firm took over $1000. Is there anything I can do to get the judgement overturned or get any money back, I was away so I didn't receive any notices.
    Any help would be great. Thanks!
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Sep 24, 2009, 08:06 AM

File a Motion to set the Judgment aside because you were not served. If it is set aside you will undoubtedly be served before you leave the Courtroom.

What is your defense?
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member

Sep 24, 2009, 09:13 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Goodguy908 View Post
    Hi there,

I have recently had a levy put on my bank account because of an 8 yr old cc debt. The court awarded Pressler and Pressler (NJ) a default judgement because I did not show to court. The thing is I have been lving abroad for the past 2 years and was not aware of the court date. I only found about it after checking my online banking acct which was now in negative balance after the firm took over $1000. Is there anything I can do to get the judgement overturned or get any money back, I was away so I didnt receive any notices.
    Any help would be great. Thanks!
    SOL for New Jersey is 6 years:
    New Jersey Statutes of Limitations

When was the court date? What is the date of service? They may not have even legally been able to sue you.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question: