Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help!
 

Free Answers in 3 Easy Steps

Register Now
3 Steps
 


Ask QuestionsprogressAnswer QuestionsprogressBuild ReputationprogressBecome an Expert
 
At Ask Me Help Desk you can ask questions in any topic and have them answered for free by our experts. To ask questions or participate in answering them you must register for a free account. By registering you will be able to:
  • Get free answers from experts in any of our 300+ topics.
  • Accept money for answers that you provide.
  • Communicate privately with other members (PM).
  • See fewer ads.
  Answer this Question    Ask about Internet Business    Ask about another Subject  
 

NoOtherLove
Apr 20, 2008, 12:30 PM
With what US government office or organization do I verify whether a business opportunity being offered by a US company over the Internet is legitimate and NOT just a scam. The advertiser collects about US$50.00 in order to be a member in the business.

Fr_Chuck
Apr 20, 2008, 01:45 PM
There is no government office that will verify this. You can contact the city hall in the city they are located in and see if they have a business license, you can call the BBB of the city that they are located in and see if they are a member and if there were complaints. You can contact the attorney general of that state and see if there are complaints on them.

But many companies open cheat alot of people, and close in a few months only to be opened up later under new names.

What type of business is it, what type of promises are they making ??

NoOtherLove
Apr 20, 2008, 05:34 PM
It's home-based data entry. I will get paid based on the number of online forms I can fill up and submit for a company I chose from their members' area (which I can access once I paid the fee they demand). I can send you their URL where you can see for yourself what they claim. But I think I better send it to your email address directly or wherever you say. I don't want us to get into trouble or something (like getting sued, etc.) I am not familiar with your laws. Will that be alright?

Fr_Chuck
Apr 20, 2008, 06:44 PM
just post the web site here, we have some very good searches who know alot.

NoOtherLove
Apr 21, 2008, 04:11 AM
just post the web site here, we have some very good searches who know alot.
Here it is: Data Entry Made Easy! (http://www.dataentrymadeeasy.com/half-price.php). Thank you in advance for all the help.

Curlyben
Apr 21, 2008, 04:20 AM
One word springs to mind....

SCAM !!!

You should NEVER have to part with money for any type of job, whether online or not.

NoOtherLove
Apr 22, 2008, 04:04 AM
One word springs to mind....

SCAM !!!

You should NEVER have to part with money for any type of job, whether online or not.
Thank you so much, guys. I Have learned a lot. Thanks again.

NeedKarma
Apr 22, 2008, 04:45 AM
Here's the part I like, it's in the FAQ: Data Entry Made Easy! (http://www.dataentrymadeeasy.com/faq.php)
At the bottom in the "How do I get a refund?" part, the link takes you to a page where it looks like they didn't pay for the 3rd party application i.e you will never get a refund.

ScottGem
Apr 22, 2008, 06:05 AM
As Ben noted, if this were legitimate, you wouldn't have to pay a fee. There are tons of these scams. Basically for your entry fee, you get a list of companies that may or may not farm out data entry. You may even get a kit showing how to approach these companies. But you have to do all the rest of the work.

BTW, there is a place to check/report such scams Federal Trade Commission - Home (http://www.ftc.gov)