Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    susy Posts: 35, Reputation: 5

May 30, 2006, 08:09 PM
    Physical custody
    What would be the reason for a judge to decide to take away the physical custody for one parent to the other??
    I'm a college student, and I don't work. However my husband work. If I get divorced, can the judge give the physical custody of my baby to my husband just because I am not working? I am a good mother, and I can demonstrate it. Does that count? Thank you.
    educatedhorse_2005 Posts: 500, Reputation: 78

May 30, 2006, 08:32 PM
    There are a lot of underlying circumstances that a judge has to take into consideration.
    He will do what is best for the child.
    I believe that he can possibly take your kid and give to your husband if you can not prove you have sufficient income to properly take care of your kid.
    CaptainForest Posts: 3,645, Reputation: 393
    Ultra Member

May 31, 2006, 12:29 PM
    Or the judge might split it down the middle.

3 days you have physical custody, then 4 days for him, then 4 days for you, then 3 days for him, etc.

There are many factors.
    wynelle Posts: 184, Reputation: 21

May 31, 2006, 12:41 PM
    Judges usually don't "take away" custody; the parents do that themselves.

Why would you think that this might happen? Has your ex-husband threatened to seek sole custody? Has anyone threatened to call the Department of Children? If you are a full-time student without a job, how do you plan to pay your expenses? Child support only goes so far.

Unless one parent does something extremely egregious, I believe the current thought is joint custody. In your case, being a student without a job, your ex-husband may have the child during the week and you on weekends.

But in the meantime, be sure that you model excellent behavior and parenting styles.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

May 31, 2006, 02:55 PM