Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    GRACEKIM1 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Feb 8, 2008, 01:58 PM
    Toilet Connector Hose Leak
    Hello,

I just bought a Toto Washlet and am now having problems with the toilet connector hose leaking (forgive me if I'm using the wrong terms here, I'm a newbie to this) after I installed it. I've attached a photo. The leak is coming from the just above the metal part that's connected to the valve. Do I need to get a longer hose or something else more complicated?

Please help. Thanks so much.

-Grace
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Feb 8, 2008, 05:13 PM
    You did not put any teflon tape around the threads to the connection. Your photo did not show up on the question but I can figure out the problem in a heartbeat. Go to the store and get some white teflon tape (about $2 tops). Only wrap it around twice around the exposed threads. Then carefully put the connection together again and don't overtighten so you don't strip out the threads but have it tight enough to hold the connection properly.

TURN OFF THE WATER FIRST though before you do anything!
    KISS Posts: 12,510, Reputation: 839
    Uber Member

Feb 8, 2008, 05:25 PM
    Twinkie:

Take a look at a compression fitting. Where is the sealing surface? It's between the ferrule and the fitting and the fitting and the ferrule. The threads are not part of the sealing surface, hence the Teflon tape may prevent a seal when used in this application.
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899
    Home Improvement & Construction Expert

Feb 9, 2008, 07:34 AM