Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Pland74 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 22, 2013, 09:51 PM
    Frozen pipe
    I believe I have a frozen pipe in my master bath. The water in the whole house runs fine... and even the cold water to the master bath sink works. It is only the hot water tap in the sink that doesn't work... not even a trickle. I've tried a bliw dryer but the pipe goes into the wall - an outside wall - and nothing seems to help. Ideas? Do I need to panic and call a plumber at midnight? Or just open the cabinet door, leave the taps open a bit, close the bathroom door, crank the heat, and hope for the best?
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899
    Home Improvement & Construction Expert

Jan 22, 2013, 10:10 PM
    Open the cabinet door to let heat in. Leave lights on. If possible put a light with 60w blub in the cabinet. That will generate some heat. No need to call plumber unless pipe burst and you won't know that until it thaws.

I had a call last winter where pipe only froze on cold nights if bath lights were turned off. Hot water pipes freezes before cold.

Need to have someone open the wall to find out why pipe is freezing. In the above situation pipe was run toward the outside of the stud, insulation between the pipe and the inside of the wall and no insulation between outside and pipe.

Plumbing should not be in exterior walls.
    Pland74 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 22, 2013, 10:13 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by hkstroud View Post
    Open the cabinet door to let heat in. Leave lights on. If possible put a light with 60w blub in the cabinet. That will generate some heat. No need to call plumber unless pipe burst and you won't know that until it thaws.

I had a call last winter where pipe only froze on cold nights if bath lights were turned off. Hot water pipes freezes before cold.