Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    chstange Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 3, 2007, 07:35 AM
    Open Ground showing on grounded outlet
    Replacing an outlet I attached the ground wire to the ground wire coming out of the wall box. The test shows an open ground, so I did it again. Same results. The ground wire inside the box is twisted with another ground wire and both appear to be solidly connected coming out. All other outlets in the same room test as correct.
    I understand the outlet can still be safely used showing an open ground as long it's not affected by water or moisture. I only intend to use it to plug in a floor lamp and to occasionally use it for my canister vacuum which pulls several amps. Would attaching the ground wire to the metal box with a screw ground the outlet sufficiently or is there a hazard here?
    Thanks
    saffle Posts: 34, Reputation: 2

Mar 3, 2007, 09:42 AM
    I've recently joined up here and I'm not an expert.
    tkrussell is clearly an expert and will most likely give the best answer soon.
    However, most forums have the implicit concept that one should contribute, as well as draw from others knowledge, so here is what I think:

The ground connection is carried either by a separate wire or in the case of conduit or BX by the surrounding metal. It sounds like you have two wires coming into the box, so that would indicate a separate ground wire and other outlets downstream. It makes no sense that if the two wires are joined that there would be no ground, since other outlets do have ground. If there is a disconnect in the ground wire this outlet would be last or there would be other outlets in series affected. The outlet itself and the metal box should be connected to the ground wire. If this was BX or conduit then connecting the ground wire to the outlet to the box would give you the ground.