Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    taxkid Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 8, 2012, 09:54 AM
    State Taxes for Indian F1 Student
    I was on an F1 visa in 2011 pursuing my post-graduate degree in Pittsburgh. During the summer, I worked in New York for 10 weeks on F1-CPT. I was however residing in New Jersey.

1) Should I file Pennsylvania and Pittsburgh city taxes as I have never earned wages in Pittsburgh?

2) If so, am I a resident / non-resident of Pennsylvania as I am an international student?

3) Pennsylvania has a reciprocal agreement with New Jersey. Would this help me in any way? Am I a resident / non-resident of New Jersey?

4) Should I even file New Jersey Taxes or stick to NY taxes as a non-resident and get exemption for NY city tax?

4) What other state taxes must I file?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 10, 2012, 01:52 AM
    Your F-1 status makes you NON-resident in all three states.

Since no money was earned in Pittsburgh, no city or PA state return is required.

You DO need to file NJ and NY returns, but the tax credit you will get for paying NY state tax will completely offset any NJ tax.

If you want my professional help, you can find my email address in my profile.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Feb 10, 2012, 04:42 AM
    You worked in NY so you must file NY tax return. You do not pay NY city tax as you did not live in the city. Also international students are nonresidents for the purpose of city tax.
    You lived in NJ so you will also file NJ tax return if your income is more than the NJ filing requirement. Also claim credit for taxes paid to NY.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Taxes for Indian student on CPT [ 2 Answers ]