Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    igot2gonow Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Jan 22, 2007, 09:49 PM
    Thanks txgreasemonkey, I found that very informative and helpful.

Thanks erich1. I was going to replace it and see if that works. Mine is calloed the neutral safety switch and you it probibly is worn out. Currently my car is in the shop getting a tune up and exhaust leak fixed. I have to get it smogged and the last thing I need is for it to get stuck in park during the test. That would give them an excuse to fail me for such a minor thing. Lol. I will replace the switch and post my results.

Again, thanks

Jan 24, 2007, 08:58 PM
    Thanks for the info. From what I can find on this problem on the web, replacing the switch works. Does anyone know why? no. I am a software engineer and there is a logical cause for every problem. Then again, there are problems that can be fixed and we never really know why. I am going to replace the switch and move on. LOL. My switch is called the neutral safety switch, back up light switch and a few others. Regardless, it’s the darn switch in the shifter console that senses the position of the shifter. I will post my results after replacing the switch.

Again thanks

Larry
    BurlGrey Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jan 25, 2007, 08:04 PM
    Having the same problem with a stuck shifter...
    I have a 1990 civic (w/ only 92k!) and lately, since moving to the NE where temps are a little colder than out west, the shifter will sometimes lock into Park yet the Park light on the dash does not light up (the key also gets stuck in position I)--this ONLY happens when it's really cold, like below 32 degrees.
    BUT, I just noticied this today (after replacing the ignition coil --separate issue, which is now fixed, whew) when I disconnect the negative battery cable for 20 seconds or so and then reconnect it, the Park light on the dash lights back up and I am able once again to shift out of park...