Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mtnbkr Posts: 83, Reputation: 2

Jan 16, 2007, 08:01 AM
    CPVC vs copper
    To me, CPVC sure seems easier. Just a simple glue process. Copper however, needs to be soldered. If I'm running water for a bathroom, why SHOULDN'T I use CPVC? Am I not allowed to put it enclosed in a wall? I have no experience with copper pipes, but having experience soldering electrical components, I thought it wouldn't be overly difficult to pickup. Thanks. I'm open to either since I haven't started.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Jan 16, 2007, 08:22 AM
    This is a no brainer! PVC and CPVC will outlast copper, is cheaper and easier to install. Yes, you may use it it the house behind walls. My advice? Convert to plastic. Good luck, Tom

Jan 16, 2007, 09:59 AM
    What do you recommend as for the union between the copper and cpvc? Thanks!
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Jan 16, 2007, 10:46 AM
    I would go to an Ace Hardware and ask for a Shark's Tooth tee. Slick, slick, slick, but expensive. When you have all the PVC/CPVC run and are ready for the water, cut the copper where you want to tie in. You may need to cut out about 1/2''-1''. Don't leave the ends ragged. Just slip the 2 copper ends plus the new CPCV into the tee. Done, that is all there is to it. 3/4'' PVC won't fit a 3/4'' Shark Tooth fitting. Go to Lowe's and pick up a CPVC/PVC adapter and use a short length of CPVC between the PVC and copper.

They make CPVC compression unions, but I couldn't find them in a tee. Again you buy 2 of them plus a CPVC tee, you will have much of the price of a Shark's Tooth.

If they aren't out where they show, make any shutoffs you use, ball valves. They are much less likely to leak around the stem or through the closed valve.

Jan 16, 2007, 11:46 AM