Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    a1234567890 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 3, 2011, 07:28 AM
    How does weed affect bone growth?
    On the 18th of April I have broken my right collar bone and I have got until mid July to wait for it to completely heal. I am wearing a sling and it doesn't really hurt that much anymore at all. Last time I have seen my doctor a few days ago he told me to quit smoking marijuana for it does not help for my bone to heal. I am a musician and I want to make a professional career out of it I play different instruments so I need my arms badly on the other hand I don't want to quit so is it true that the active ingredient, THC in weed affects not just your brain but also your bones growth? Thanks :)
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Jun 3, 2011, 07:35 AM

Yes, over time, it does stunt growth, promotes bone loss and effects the brain. So if you want your life to be musical, professional, then do yourself a favour and quit smoking weed.

You have a goal in life, that is good, so do all you can to reach that goal with a healthy lifestyle.

Tick
    a1234567890 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 3, 2011, 07:47 AM
    Comment on tickle's post
    Yea... thanks about that so if you do decide not to quit smoking how badly can it affect you?
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Jun 3, 2011, 08:15 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by a1234567890 View Post
    yea...thanks about that so if you do decide not to quit smoking how badly can it affect you?
    Hello a:

Here's the problem. We don't know. I was going to tell you to listen to your doctor, cause he surly knows more than I do... However, in THIS instance, he may not...