Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jimmycarpenter Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 26, 2011, 02:32 PM
    Material list for a 100 amp upgrade in residence
    I am doing a paper on installing a new 100 amp service an I am in need of a material list since I have never done this before I don't know what materials are needed
    donf Posts: 5,679, Reputation: 582
    Printers & Electronics Expert

May 26, 2011, 02:40 PM

Jimmy,

There is no set in stone kit for you.

1st of all, Service installation would normally done by a Power Company.

If they are not doing the work, then you have to include permit costs, parts, cable (copper or aluminum) and the list goes on.
    \
    My best recommendation is to either hit your text book, go to the library to determine what you need to complete the install and then go price the equipment and parts at Lowe's or home depot.

When I had to do that, that's the way I did the exercise.

It's a terrific learning exercise so buckle down and get it done.
    stanfortyman Posts: 5,598, Reputation: 279
    Electrical & Lighting Expert

May 26, 2011, 06:49 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by donf View Post

1st of all, Service installation would normally done by a Power Company.
    Don, I have to disagree with you here. The only thing a utility has to do with a service installation is tie into their lines. The "service" is installed by an electrical contractor.
    tkrussell Posts: 9,659, Reputation: 725
    Uber Member

May 27, 2011, 02:44 AM
    I have to assume some education course is requiring this paper. What kind of course requires something of students that have no knowledge of the requirement?

By the way, what utilities provide is regional. In New Hampshire, Public Service of New Hampshire, provides and installs the service entrance conductors riser and the meter socket, the customer furnishes installs, owns, and maintains the SEC from meter to panel, and the panel.