Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tfbroc Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

May 22, 2011, 05:59 AM
    Toilet tank won't fill up.
    The rubber tube goes into the fill tube but just continues to run water and not fill the tank.

May 22, 2011, 06:20 AM
    I have a fluid master fill valve. The rubber tube that goes to the fill tube continues to run water in but the tank won't fill up.
    afaroo Posts: 4,006, Reputation: 251
    Ultra Member

May 22, 2011, 06:35 AM

Check the flapper valve it should be down and seated, check the handle that it is not stuck in the up position, check the chain that it is not short to keep the flapper up, and make sure the refill tube is connected to the overflow pipe, see the Image below, good luck.

John
    Attached Images

Stratmando Posts: 11,188, Reputation: 508
    Uber Member

May 22, 2011, 06:44 AM

Manually lift the float up and see if the water stops, may need adjusting, or replacing.

May 22, 2011, 06:58 AM
    Yes I did lift the float and the water stopped flowing.

May 22, 2011, 07:04 AM
    Comment on afaroo's post
    I checked all things you said : the float shuts off the water: the flapper is seated: the over flow tube is tight: No blockage. Handle is OK. Chain not interfearing with fill up. Water just goes into the over flow pipe and keeps running.
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899
    Home Improvement & Construction Expert

May 22, 2011, 10:59 AM

Attached Images

Ultra Member

May 22, 2011, 05:12 PM

You need to adjust the float Hold on to the clip which attaches the float to the rod squeeze the clip and move the float up to adjust see if it will work if not is time for a new fill valve they are not expensive &12.00 and easy to replace it, good luck.

John
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

May 22, 2011, 05:23 PM