Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    smjanouris Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 4, 2007, 06:42 AM
    Heat Pump - Emergency Heat
    My heat pump keeps changing itself to the aux heat. Can you tell me why it is doing this and how I can prevent it from doing it.
    ScottLwood Posts: 19, Reputation: 2

Feb 4, 2007, 07:23 AM
    Im no pro but if your heat pump cannot "heat" because the outside temperature is so cold, then the emergency heat will kick on to assist the heat pump. Also if you change the T-stat more than 5 degrees higher than room temp it may kick on. Hope this helps, I'm no expert!
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Feb 4, 2007, 08:26 AM
    Yes, I have a heat pump and it will heat the outside air up a percentage so if and when it is below a certain temperature outside the heat pump can not by the way it works warm the house to the setting you are using.

So if you don't want it to turn on the aux heat lower your thermostat to a setting that is colder.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Whalen Heat Pump - no heat! [ 9 Answers ]

Hi, I live in a condo and have a Whalen Heat Pump. I changed the thermostat to a Noma digital programmable model (model # 52-255808) in the summer time. The A/C works well and the fan works well, but I did not test for heat as it was summer when I installed it. Well, now that the weather is...

NO HEAT! Janitrol heat pump and AC system. Changing to Lux Thermostat. Wiring issue. [ 11 Answers ]

I have a Janitrol A/C and heat pump system. I replaced the thermostat with a Lux T9000LC The A/C works fine, but the heater does not. I have it wired as follows: G - Green Y - Yellow W - White RH - Pink B -

Aux heat vs emergency heat [ 1 Answers ]