Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lucymox Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Oct 31, 2010, 09:46 AM
    Do children receive benefits if their parents is permanently disabled?
    I recently applied for social security disability benefits for a physical problem that will not go away. My doctor urged me to apply, so I am sure I will receive the benefits. I have been doing some reading on the SSA website and it appears that my children might receive money as well. Does anyone have experience with this? I am married, my husband works, I used to be a teacher, and we have two children. Since my husband works, will this affect my children by not allowing them to receive a benefit? I'm confused and would like to hear from people in a similar situation. Thanks!
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Oct 31, 2010, 10:27 AM

You need to go to the Social Security office and sign your kids up now to receive benefits of their own. You will have to bring their ID when you apply. They will advise you approximately how much they would receive should you be approved to receive benefits. If you get turned down for benefits then you can go to an attorney to do your appeal. Most people get turned down the first time around, sometimes it takes years to get approved so don't think this is going to be easy to get benefits awarded to you. It is a long, hard, drawn out process in most cases. I used to work for a disability attorney in Florida and most cases took many years to get the benefits awarded. Good luck.
    jelly1bean Posts: 50, Reputation: 8

Oct 31, 2010, 10:55 AM