Can a adult adopt another adult
    Just a quick question.
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Jun 23, 2010, 02:00 PM
    Quick answer, no.
    vickshultz Posts: 11, Reputation: 0

Jul 12, 2010, 09:53 PM
    I suppose you could if the one being adopted is mentally handicapped!
    Kitkat22 Posts: 6,302, Reputation: 1191
    Uber Member

Jul 12, 2010, 10:01 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by vickshultz View Post
    I suppose you could if the one being adopted is mentally handicapped!

I don't think so. Maybe they can be appointed guardian if the person is handicapped. I'm no lawyer but I don't think you can adopt any adult.
    GV70 Posts: 2,918, Reputation: 283
    Family Law Expert

Jul 14, 2010, 12:29 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Curlyben View Post
    Quick answer, no.
    Quick answer-YES.
    Pa law
    2311. Who may be adopted.

Any individual may be adopted, regardless of his age or residence.
    2713. When other consents not required.

The court, in its discretion, may dispense with consents other than that of the adoptee to a petition for adoption when:

1. the adoptee is over 18 years of age;

Indiana Code
    31-19-2-1. Adoption of adult; petition; venue; consent; investigation

Sec. 1.

(a) An individual who is at least eighteen (18) years of age may be adopted by a resident of Indiana:

(1) upon proper petition to the court having jurisdiction in probate matters in the county of residence of the individual or the petitioner for adoption; and

(2) with the consent of the individual acknowledged in open court.
    Family Law Expert

Jul 14, 2010, 12:32 PM

Tennessee code
    36-1-107. Persons to whom this part is applicable.
    (c) An adult may be adopted.
    36-1-117. Parties to proceedings
    (j) (1) When the person sought to be adopted is eighteen (18) years of age or older, only the sworn, written consent of the person sought to be adopted shall be required and no order of reference or any home studies need be issued.