Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Danny460 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 11, 2008, 06:26 PM
    Quote a paint job
    I am new at the quoting part of my business. How do I quote a painting job and still make money?
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Feb 13, 2008, 06:51 PM
    Experience will help you the more you get into it. Handymen charge about 50 to 60 cents a square foot, homeowner supplying the materials. Pros are double that or more so why not start in the middle and see if it puts food on your table. Once you build a client base you may decide to let that rate creep up if needed.
    cherriepieper Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 10, 2010, 01:29 AM
    hi there from my experiences you have several options
    a. quote by the hour generally I charge between 40-70 depending on whether its commercail residential what's involved/required etc... weekend/weekday/day or night if it's a house around 45 + paint n materials for each person your safe in this area as your making a good wage plus you can make a bit extra off the other people & you will be sure you won't lose any money.
    b. find out the square meterage of the house get a floor plan usually it will have the size at the bottom of the plans right hnad or left hand corner i.e HOuse 300m2 Garage floor 60m2 I generally charge anywhere between 24-28per square metre, this also depends on what's involved how many coats they would like etc etc you will make money from this and pull a decent wage it works for me