Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    1badchoice Posts: 227, Reputation: 45

Apr 3, 2007, 09:00 PM
    Honesty on job appl with felony conviction
    I live in Ohio. Was convicted last year of 2 felony counts of welfare fraud (failure to report changes). Though I have a degree I couldn't get a job at Wal-Mart if honest about my conviction. Which I was on 90% of applications and about starved. Finally ignored question on a couple of applications and was hired. Thinking getting a few weeks of income then potentially fired was better than starving. See... fraud is considered both lying and stealing. Now my degree is in social services... most jobs are state related so I don't even apply. Kind of like with banks. It's a no brainer that they are NOT going to look at someone with this type of felony. And on paper, don't blame them. So... Is it truly better to be honest about felony when most of the time I can't even get an interview if I am?:confused:
    burn56 Posts: 41, Reputation: 11

Apr 3, 2007, 09:08 PM
    Lying about it is grounds for immediate termination.
    In the state of California stating you have a felony does not exactly mean your instantly not hired, it just means the manager has to go through human resources before even CONSIDERING hiring you. Which means most managers will not even bother.
    You have to show determination, you must be honest up front about it.
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Apr 3, 2007, 10:15 PM