Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Jeff_from_Ohio Posts: 7, Reputation: 0

May 25, 2010, 05:59 PM
    Somebody tell me how do I get back on my feet?
    How the hell do I get back on my feet?
    I used to be successful, happy and a hero but my life has turned to . I am not exaggerating. And I will be surprised if anybody answers.
    Ten years ago, I was a professional firefighter and paramedic, working my way though medical school, had a wife and a infant son, a nice SUV and a nice townhouse. Then things happened; my son developed congenital glaucoma, was diagnosed too late and had nearly a dozen surgeries leading to the loss of one eye, he also developed a hospital acquired antibiotic resistant infection and nearly lost his hearing as well, I was injured in a fall as a fireman and developed intractable pain and I was dismissed from medical school in my last year after I saved a man's life but in doing so endangered a physicians reputation. It was a bad, bad year.
    I developed severe depression and started having a lot of problems with PTSD. Eventually, when it didn't get any better and I lost my career, then job after job, I went to a shrink, a really, really bad, reckless and narcissistic one. He got me hooked on pills, all kinds of pills, uppers, downers, narcotics and multiple strong antidepressants. My mood became unpredictable. Five years ago, my wife said she had enough, so the woman I loved so much threw me out. It was cold and sleeting. I ended up being caught in an abandoned building where I took shelter to avoid freezing to death by police. I ended up having those charges dropped but this started real problems. I was unable to provide for my wife and kids and ended up caught stealing some food for my kids. This is where most people get incredibly self-righteous, feeling better about themselves by looking down at me.