Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    chrisger Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 30, 2010, 06:21 PM
    Can my boyfriend kick me out of the house?
    I moved in with my boyfriend upon a verbal agreement that I didn't have to pay rent or utilities since I was relocating from orange county to central coast and took over a half cut in pay and changing careers. I have been residing at his home for 9 months and have since gotten rid of all my furniture at the request of him to accommodate his home. Many of my things have also been damaged by him and are not replaceable.

We are in the process of splitting up and he has tried to throw me out of the house with no where to go on several occasions. In the process, we have argued he has become verbally abusive on a daily basis and has been physically abusive in the past which I didn't bother to report. I stayed away for a couple of weeks and no longer have a place to stay so I agreed to move into the front room to have my own space so I can focus on school and work while I save money to relocate back to orange county after I find work there.

I feel he is partially responsible for bringing me here and is now trying to leave me with nothing. I have documented all my expenses and difference in income and have asked him to meet me half way and help me financially so I can move out but he is refusing.

What rights do I have regarding our verbal agreement?
    jaime90 Posts: 1,157, Reputation: 163
    Ultra Member

Jan 30, 2010, 06:35 PM

If it is his house, he really can do whatever he wants with it. A verbal agreement isn't exactly a legal agreement written on paper. You are simply trying to leave, but waiting till you have the money, and he wants to kick you out right now. A verbal agreement about paying utilities and rent isn't going to help.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jan 30, 2010, 06:36 PM