Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    eagriffin09 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 8, 2009, 07:36 PM
    What are my chances of getting pregnant?
    Hi,
    My husband and I have just recently decided to start a family, and I've never been pregnant before so I'm not really sure what to be looking for.. My last period was August 26th and we had sex on the 6th and 7th I had heard that your fertile time is between 14 to 16 days after your last period so I just want to know what my odds are. I'm a vet tech and I deal with a lot or hazardous things at work and just want to know if I should start taking precautions... thanks.:rolleyes:
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Sep 8, 2009, 07:40 PM
    Always take precautions... vet tech or not. Start taking prenatal vitamins now. You need your folic acid BEFORE you get pregnant.

Now, are your periods regular? You heard that the fertile periods are between 14-16 days. This is just an average for regular women. It is not a hard and fast rule.

Considering you just started trying for a family I want to warn you not to get worried each month when mother nature appears. It can take a year or longer of active trying for women to become pregnant.
    eagriffin09 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 8, 2009, 07:43 PM

Yes I have a regular period, I'm only 21 and I was just hoping that this would be kind of easy.. know what I meen?
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Sep 8, 2009, 08:06 PM
    Easy, sorry had to giggle a bit... not to be rude, but getting pregnant is not as easy as one would think.

We ovulate ONE day a month, that egg is viable for fertilization 24-32 hours after ovulation. It takes up to 3 or 4 days for the sperm to reach the egg to be fertilized, if you have sex the DAY of your ovulation the egg is no longer viable for fertilization once the sperm reaches the egg.

Having sex as early as 5 days before expected ovulation is better than the day OF ovulation.