Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    melissa27009 Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Apr 6, 2009, 10:44 AM
    Husband was Deported, Need Divorce
    I am trying to file a do-it-yourself divorce based on the fact that I am a full time student, have 3 children and am a single mother. I do not have much money at all, and just the filing fees alone are going to be a big set back for me. I have heard many conflicting stories about how to go about the divorce.
    I understand the process with the paperwork. My question is I have been told I need to run an add the local newspaper of our last residence, I was told to hire a private investegator and when that comes back as him being deported that was service, and I was told I had to run an add his countries newspaper. (I dotn speak spanish :confused:) Can anyone PLEASE direct me in the right path. I really need this divorce done, as I have heard he is planning on coming back illegally and trying to take my children back to El Salvador. :(
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Apr 6, 2009, 11:02 AM

It varies State by State so it's hard to know exactly what the Court in your area requires.

Your husband MUST be notified of the divorce. That can be done by serving papers on him PERSONALLY or by publishing in a newspaper which meets certain criteria (usually a certain circulation) in the area where he lives.

I don't know why you would need a licensed private investigator to prove he was deported. He's your husband and there should be records which you can obtain, particularly if you've attempted to apply for any benefits.

A divorce will complicate things if he comes back into the country, of course, but it will take some time.

Do you have a restraining order or any other type of paperwork concerning custody or visitation? At this moment he has the same rights to the children that you have.
    Uber Member

Apr 6, 2009, 11:03 AM