Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Stoker Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Dec 15, 2004, 02:54 PM
    Slab on grade plumbing
    Hi,
    I am thinking of building a cabin with a slab-on-grade floor. My plumbing experience is pretty good for a DIYer, a cople of complete new houses, but never slab on grade. Reading over this forum, there seems to be a lot of plumbing problems in slabs. Should I reconsider the slab? If not, how do you complete the shower drain connections? Through the hole in the bottom of the shower? Do you know of a good plumbing book devoted in large part to slab plumbing? Most I have checked do not even mention slabs. Any help appreciated.
    Stoker
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Dec 15, 2004, 04:51 PM
    Slab
    Hey Stoker,
    I'm a south Flordia plumber. Every house, condo,or commercial building I've plumbed has been on a slab. What's your problem with slabs? Your other options are a basement or to jack the house up on a raised foundation creating a crawl space. If I were you I'd go with a slab. I'll look around for a book on slab plumbing but it goes down exactly the same as other plumbing except it's underground. If you have any questions about how to lay out a underground rough in I can probably answer them. Regards, Tom

Dec 16, 2004, 10:42 AM
    Slab
    Hey Speedball,