Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    chirobuilder Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Feb 27, 2009, 08:51 PM
    I need a riser diagram for an under slab bathroom
    I am a contractor with a fair amount of knowledge, but have never plumbed a bathroom in a basement. I have a 4" sewer line located in the center of my bathroom layout. The sewer line is at its lowest point in the basement near the house trap. I know I will need a
    3" line for the toilet, a 2" line for the shower and an 1 1/2" line for the sink. I have no problem with the plumbing for the sink, but I am not quite sure where the vent for my shower and my toilet will come from beneath the slab.

Can someone give me a basic diagram showing the plumbing beneath the slab.

Can someone please offer me a little help on this diagram. Any help would be appreciated.

Pete
    Milo Dolezal Posts: 7,192, Reputation: 523
    Plumbing Expert

Feb 27, 2009, 09:03 PM

Post size of the bathroom showing location of door and that 4" pipe...

There are 100 ways of laying it out .Sketch will greatly narrow it...

Feb 27, 2009, 09:08 PM
    I'm new at this and am not sure how to get a diagram into this.
    Plumbing Expert

Feb 27, 2009, 09:44 PM
    Here is sketch of toilet and shower drain rough-in. See if it works for you...
    Attached Images

Feb 27, 2009, 09:49 PM
    A diagram of my bathroom layout is attached.
    Attached Images

Plumbing Expert

Feb 27, 2009, 10:00 PM

Ok, that helps... Here is one of few ways to rough it in. The white circles are vents...
    Attached Images

Plumbing Expert

Feb 27, 2009, 10:06 PM

Now since you are on slab, you probably don't want to dig too deep. If that's the case, you can utilize this option...

At the end of 4" pipe you install long sweep 90, run it above ground and install 4" clean out. Then you can reduce to 2" run it to the ceiling and connect with shower and sink vents. Continue above the roof with this 2" vent or connect on floor above with existing vent.