Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kimaccardo Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 6, 2007, 03:26 PM
    Arm bands that I see nfl nba and college athletes wear
    Does anyone know the real reason that nfl players and others wear those bands on their arms and even lower legs.
    Sanjay Persad Posts: 110, Reputation: 0

Jan 6, 2007, 03:43 PM
    I play tennis competitively and I wear bands because they absorb sweat. Most top sportmen are sponsored. Companies e.g.. Nike might sponsor some basketball player. And they will tell them to wear a head band, arm band etc... because that's how they get their product advertised. Also the style is the wear arm bands where your biceps muscle is. Anyone who disagrees with me is wrong.
    garywickert Posts: 1, Reputation: 2

Dec 30, 2007, 07:09 PM
    With all due respect to the tennis player who has a difficult time with spelling, I doubt he's ever taken a pro football snap. I have. In addition, I am a fitness trainer. The bands discussed are thin and have no namebrand insignias, so they clearly can't be due to "sponsor" requirements. It would be like the "secret publicity stunt" joke in the movie, "Rat Race". In addition, many players, including rookie linesmen making the league minimum and many other players with no endorsement opportunities wear the bands. The tennis player is wrong. So, what are the bands for?