Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ChevyIIragtop Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Jan 2, 2009, 10:40 AM
    Broken Drain Pipe in basement slab
    Plummber has confirmed I have a broken drain pipe about 6 ft from where it enters my basement. It appears to be running across the full length of my basement so I am wondering will the remaining pipe also break. Is there a way to reinforce the remaining pipe once I gain access to the break?
    21boat Posts: 2,441, Reputation: 212
    Ultra Member

Jan 2, 2009, 11:00 AM

If the break is 6' outside away from the house no worries about the basement pipe When he back fill his repair the new repair should have a 1' of crushed rice mix stone over it before backfilling the dirt I think you are panicking here a bit but that's understandable.
    I'm not sure about
    is there a way to reinforce the remaining pipe once I gain access to the break?
    Can you explain in more detail please.
    I'm a contractor for 30 some years and you have me a little confused here.
    So if you can help me out a bit that would be great!
    Thank you

Signed 21 boat

Jan 2, 2009, 11:46 AM

The break is in the basement slab, 6 ft from where the standpipe enters the slab. Since a portion of this pipe has failed is it reasonable to suspect that the remaining pipe will also fail. If so, then are there any steps I can take to reduce/prevent the rest of the pipe from failing?
    21boat Posts: 2,441, Reputation: 212
    Ultra Member

Jan 2, 2009, 12:07 PM

Oh I read about 6 ft from where it enters my basement.
    There not really much for you to do unless you want to cut the floor and expose pipe. Is it you worried that the stand pipe may fall? If you have good plumbers they should know what to do but don't be shy to express your worry they work for you,

Jan 2, 2009, 12:33 PM