Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jamsfowler Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 12, 2006, 07:44 AM
    Hampton Bay Ceiling Fan - Light Comes On By Itself
    Just installed a Hampton Bay ceiling fan with the remote control for the fan and the light. Old house and I it's my first time installing a fan. Pretty proud and works pretty well. O.K. just a little wobble.

After a while of operation, the light comes on without anyone touching the remote. Sometimes it will turn off and on again, kind of flashing.

We do have a TV remote in the same room. Would that affect the fan's and light's operation?

What is wrong?
    ceilingfanrepair Posts: 5,733, Reputation: 109
    Uber Member

Jun 12, 2006, 08:33 AM
    Yes, you need to change the frequency of the fan and it's remote:

http://www.ceiling-fans-n-more.com/c...e-controls.php
    jamsfowler Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 12, 2006, 11:30 AM
    Thank you, I will give it a try
    dptaylor11 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jun 28, 2006, 07:47 PM
    Just wondering if you found changing the frequency helped? I have a Hampton Bay and have been reading several posts that they "have a mind of their own". My Hampton lights come on, go off, fan comes on and goes off by itself ALL THE TIME! Nothing we have tried has worked.
    Uber Member

Jun 28, 2006, 08:40 PM
    What have you tried? It is almost always a frequency problem easily fixed. See the link above.

Jun 28, 2006, 09:22 PM