Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    aking2008 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Aug 1, 2008, 06:40 PM
    MTD Yard Machines tractor won't start
    I have an MTD Yard Machines 20 h.p. Lawn tractor with the Briggs & Stratton I/C engine. The engine model # is 461707 and the type is 0143 E1. My son was cutting grass yesterday and said that the jerk and hesitate a little and then started making a clicking sound so he turned the blades off and then turned the engine off. We've tried starting it since then but it won't crank. There is a quick click but nothing happens. I checked the oil level on the dipstick and it was very low but not dry or empty. I've charged the battery also because I was afraid that continually trying to start it had drained it. Still nothing. Today I tried to spin it by hand and it would not budge. This has me thinking that the engine is locked up somehow. I have no experience with that at all. Any ideas? I brought the mower brand new back in 2000 and have not had any engine problems in 8 years, although I've gone through several belts and a few tires.

Thanks,
    aking2008
    RMY Posts: 9, Reputation: 1

Aug 2, 2008, 06:35 PM
    Rem your plug, then try to rotate the eng make sure your starter gear is not stuck in your flywheel or your drive belt is not stuck in a pulley. If it won't rotate you probably had a crankshaft failure.

Aug 9, 2008, 06:33 PM
    Would not rotate. I read somewhere that the problem could also be the solenoid. Is that possible? How would I check? I changed the spark plugs just to be safe also. When I turned the ignition key there is a clicking sound but nothing else happens. It only clicks once each time I turned the key.
    RMY Posts: 9, Reputation: 1

Aug 10, 2008, 04:55 AM