Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nanc1430 Posts: 106, Reputation: 1

Aug 4, 2008, 08:44 AM
    How to acquire first commercial cleaning contract
    Hi
    I have been cleaning residential homes for over 17 years and would like to get into commercial cleaning. Real Estate/sales and property management along with new house contracts. I have joined the Chamber of Commerce, passed out a lot of business cards, brochures, specials etc. The question I have is what does it take to get the first cleaning contract? I have even offered to some companies a free clean for a commercial testimonial. I tried to kill two birds with one stone by doing this. It gives me commercial testimonials that I need and also shows the company what I can do and how fast I can do it. I have been in business for over 3 months but have been concentrating on getting my ducks in order first. Now I am ready and don't know where to start.
    I haven't done any cold calling as yet but think that might be my best bet. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you
    nanc1430
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Aug 4, 2008, 09:18 AM
    Go back on who you passed business cards out to. Did you get their business card so you have a record of who you saw or spoke to? Same with brochures. Then it isn't necessarily a cold call because you have already made contact.

No one in sales actually likes cold calls, but while going back on the ones you left cards with, etc. stop in and do double duty with some cold calling. And, always keep a record of who you talked to about your commercial business, then initiate a data base of all of these people so you will have the start of a good mailling list, then, send out a flyer offering a special discount for start up business.
    nanc1430 Posts: 106, Reputation: 1

Aug 4, 2008, 10:24 PM