Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    s10dude87 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 9, 2008, 02:50 PM
    Early termination of probation and when?
    I am on first offender status felony probation. I received 5 years of probation, 120 hours of community service, and roughly 2,300 in fines. My question is what I the earliest I could motion early termination of probation? I plan to go into the military and have since I was a freshman in high school and got around the wrong crowd and got off track a bit. I desperately want to put this behind me and get into the military as soon as possible! I know I have to have everything completed. But, how long must I wait to get it dropped? Do I have to have a lawyer to do this also? I live in GA if that helps so you can go by GA law.
    DesElms Posts: 35, Reputation: 2

Jul 9, 2008, 03:12 PM
    A lot of parolees are afraid to talk frankly with their parole officers. There's really no reason for that... even when the PO is kinda' crusty and offputting. You should definitely ask your PO... if for no other reason that he should know what are your intentions, and why you want early termination.

I'll say this, though: If you haven't done the community service, or paid the fines, your PO will not only laugh at you, he may well be offended by the question and will give you grief. Get the community service and the fines out of the way; then broach the subject with your PO.

Of course, consulting with an attorney would help, though many of them aren't as familiar with post-conviction issues as you might think they should be. That said, there are lawyers who specialize -- or at least sub-specialize -- in that area. They're out there. You need only find one.

Your PO has an obligation to talk to you about it, though... but you and he/she may need to get to know one another better before you can. And if you haven't fulfilled your other obligations first, I wouldn't bother.