Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Roscoe1 Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Apr 24, 2008, 02:09 PM
    Remove felony conviction from public record
    Hello,

Seven years ago I was convicted of a commercial Marijuana growing operation. I am not sure if it matters but I had four hundred plants and a substantial amount of money that was seized, as well as a large portion of my personal property. I have been a good kid since then, and have had no troubles with the law, and have no plans of it either. I am an electrician for a living, and have had numerous jobs that I would be more than qualified for fall through based on my felony conviction. Is there anything a person can do to have a felony conviction removed, or at least not public record? I did the crime, and did the time, but still paying... any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you,
    Todd
    Gem_22205 Posts: 976, Reputation: 129

Apr 24, 2008, 02:23 PM
    This may be helpful to you.
    http://www.kccba.org/Cert_Relief_tra...dout_Mar07.pdf

Good-Luck.
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Apr 24, 2008, 05:24 PM
    You will have to wait for at least 9 or 10 years before you can even approach the court for an expungement of this from your record. In the meantime you need to learn your lesson for a tad longer and keep clean and out of trouble. Too bad that you are not able to apply for the jobs due to a criminal record. Your put up your money and play and your put up your money and pay. Now it's time to pay the consequences.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Apr 24, 2008, 05:55 PM
    Yes, normally in the US you will have to be about 8 to 10 years out and have had no trouble, you then hire an attorney to file for the record to be explunged. Now some judges just won't do it, others have no problem, so you will have to file and see what happens
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Apr 25, 2008, 06:08 AM
    Hello: